Housedouche

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tall bike project December 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — housedouche @ 5:26 pm

I’ve been wanting to make a hipstery tallbike for some time now and finally got some time to do it over Christmas break.  I had to make the two steering columns line up so they wouldn’t bind and stuff but after spending an entire evening attaching the two bikes I realized that this put my center of gravity too far back so the thing will wheelie up and dump a person at the slightest provocation and that ain’t gonna fly so I attempted to modify the frame of the lower bike but ended up just ruining it and that’s a real shame because it used to be a perfectly good bike.  Problem is, the lower bike is smaller/shorter in length than the top bike and had I built a tallbike before, I would have known that this would be a problem.  But, I had a feeling it would just turn into a huge cluster and some wasted time and materials but that’s the cost of not doing business and I’m still having a lot of fun figuring it out.  I really get into this sort of crap.   So tomorrow I will start shopping the DI’s again for a frame that’s closer to the size I already have and that should fix the whole center of gravity issue.

Now, I did consider buying a U joint from a 1/2″ socket set and just welding one or two of those in the steering column  some where but you see, I’ve got a very long bolt that I fabricated that goes from the top set of handlebars down into the bottom part of the bottom bike’s steering column so if I were to do a U-joint, I wouldn’t have a way to attach the top steering to the bottom steering.  I’m sure there’s a way but I haven’t taken the time to figure it out.    I’m also sure there are plans for this sort of thing online but I haven’t taken the time to sort through em.

Anyway, here are some pictures.

This was my attempt to modify the lower bike so I could get the steering column to be more straight up & down but I think all I did was destroy the bike.  I don’t know.. I might be able to get it to work, in fact I might even be able to lengthen it so it’ll be more stable.  But I’m really considering finding another bike at the DI or at one of those bike swap places.  Will update later.

K check this out.  I had to buy a “new” bike from the DI and it was only 10 bucks!  And it was the right size!  

This is all I have for now but all I need to do is hook everything up – chains, sprockets, BRAKES…

 

Leave a Reply

