Housedouche

Just another WordPress.com weblog

In response to a post by my sister on her blog January 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — housedouche @ 8:11 pm

You know, life really sucks when you don’t live in an awesome newly remodeled classic bungalow or rambler style home.  If you’re like most people you probably want your home remodeled and you want it done NOW!  And if you’re like most people you probably don’t have time or money or neither at the moment so you have to make do with what you’ve got like my sister and I are doing.

Here’s her blog, you’ll probably enjoy hers more cause she’s a pretty good blogger and house re-doucher.  http://hiphousegirl.wordpress.com/

In the meantime, before we get our kitchens and bathrooms remodeled, this is what we’re doing to get by as spoiled Americans who don’t like to wash dishes by hand.   Here’s what I did when I finally got sick of spending 45 minutes a whack doing dishes.  Instead of spending the time I would have spent doing 3 sink fulls of dishes, I spent it ripping out the drawers that used to be there and installing this dishwasher.

If you’re like most people, you’ve probably already noticed that there’s a door missing.  That’s because the dishwasher was a little wider than the bank of drawers I ripped out so there’s nothing for the door hinges to attach to anymore.  Now if this were a permanent deal I’d make it work and look good you betcha but this is just temporary so cool your jets.

Also, if you look closely, you’ll see a little blue box with a switch in it – that’s so I don’t have to crawl under the sink and plug in the garbage disposal every time I want to turn it on.  Seriously, people actually live this way.    To be honest with you I don’t even like garbage disposals I swear all they ever do is stink like a burp someone blew in your face.  I don’t actually USE mine so this usually isn’t a problem.   It’s really not that hard to not put garbage in the sink when the garbage can is a mere 7 feet away.  I just don’t see what the big deal is about garbage disposals.  Plus they cost over a hundred bucks!  I occasionally have to turn mine on just to get it to drain water.  Eff that.   I’ll deal with it though til I get the kitchen re-douched.

And look how much (little) counter space I have here.

It serves it’s purpose but if I have the means to make it bigger and better, why not!?

Below you’ll see one of the most crucial tide-me-overs – painting black over all this green shizz – it was everywhere!  no joke.  They’d smeared this green crap all over the kitchen so it had to be painted over.  I can deal with it on the insides of the cabinets but not on the outsides.

Just picture in your mind, everywhere you see black, replace it with that green color.

Matt painted over all that bless his heart.  I also have my laundry room in the kitchen which isn’t ideal, but it sure beats the crap out of going to a laundromat.

And see that window where the table is?  I had the plumbers rough-in for a sink just below that window so eventually the sink will have a view out the window.  I did the same thing in the basement.  The laundry room will eventually be moved to the bathroom.

Here’s a window I put in my front door so I can peep out of it.  Not a priority but I had all my tools out to do weather stripping so I figured I’d just throw it in real quick like (45 minutes or so) I put it a little too high though.  Oops.  Oh well, at least I’ll know for the next house.

Believe it or not, I didn’t do the 69 thing on purpose I just lucked out I guess.

Don’t get too excited to see much progress on the house.  I’m in school and I have 2 smaller projects ahead of the kitchen/bath remodel and I can only keep my sanity if I have no more than 2-3 projects going on at once.  Plus my funds are starting to feel it after that basement remodel.  I better stop blogging so I can finish my homework, finish getting my basement ready to rent and if there’s time left over, work on my oil heater.

 

One Response to “In response to a post by my sister on her blog”

  1. hiphousegirl Says:

    Aww Jonny thanks for calling me a good blogger and house-redoucher! I’m touched. I don’t think those windows are too high, I think they look cool. I kinda wish my door had windows but not big enough for people to look in. Your kitchen is gonna look sweet!


Leave a Reply

