Housedouche

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Going green with the sport utility neon January 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — housedouche @ 5:36 am

This is my little receiver hitch what ever you call these things.  Build time, oh about 3 hours last night.  I figure driving around a 4-cylinder vehicle instead of an 8 cylinder contributes half as much smog to the inversion so I’ve done my part people.

This is the unit upside down – notice the angle of the part that goes into the receiver hitch – that’s so it doesn’t have that saggy crappy look about it.  I also welded the peepee out of it with high penetrating 6011 welding rod to make sure it wouldn’t fall off or something while I’m humming along at 80.  Also, I read on the part of the hitch I welded on that it’s rated for 200 lbs of tongue weight so I figure it can handle about that much weight.  BUT, as always, you need to use your best judgement.  If it doesn’t feel secure or whatever then it’s probably not.  I jumped up and down on this thing before I actually used it on a public freeway and I’m a good 200 lbs so I feel pretty confident it’s going to hold up just fine.

 

Leave a Reply

