Housedouche

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How to “winnow” away unwanted protein in your pasta December 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — housedouche @ 7:34 am

Yea, weevils are kinda gross, but you know you really shouldn’t waste food, even if it is only a dollar’s worth.  Just because you shared a small portion of your pasta with weevils doesn’t make it inedible.  You could actually leave em in and if they’re boiled, you should be good to go.  But it’s still kinda gross and I don’t really like seeing the weevils in my pasta so here’s what you can do about it.

In case you didn’t have enough patience to watch the whole video, you’ll see that I’m attempting for the first time, an ancient technique called “winnowing” in order to remove dried up weevil carcasses from my shell pasta.  Anciently, and still today in Africa and places like that, I’ve seen on national geographic how they separate the wheat from the tears by throwing it all up into the air and letting the wind carry away the lighter, crappier plant matter and leaving behind the more desirable food product.  Maybe a gentler stream of air would have been better, like from a fan or something?

Also, you might miss a weevil carcass or two but don’t worry, when you boil the pasta and it does that kinda foamy, bubbly action above the water level in the pan, weevils will be in that part and you can easily remove them with a small strainer.  I did this tonight to a lone weevil that had somehow escaped the winnowing, probably protected inside one of the shells.  You COULD skip the whole winnowing process altogether but in my opinion, the winnowing technique does a much better job of removing the smaller bits of broken up weevil carcasses than using the strainer method or rinsing the dry pasta with water.

Anyway, here’s what I made tonight, just kind of a “goo-losh”   – a mixture of crap I had laying around the house and in the nether regions of the fridge – an onion about to go bad, carrots about to go bad, lentils that usually don’t go bad, frozen cut up hot dogs,  rescued shell pasta, and I made the soup/sauce part with beef bullion granules and corn starch to thicken it up.  On the corn starch, be sure you mix it in with cold water first.  If you want it thicker but the pot is already boiling, mix it with a little bit of cold water and whisk it in the boiling mixture.  Otherwise, if you try to put the corn starch directly into the boiling soup, you’ll get these nasty white chunks of corn starch that taste gross and look weird.  Weird and gross.

Tastes better than it looks I think.

No, I’m not the only one who enjoyed this delicious, hearty concoction of world hunger awareness.  Katie had some too and since I usually tell her about the weevils half way through dinner, it’s no big deal, just yummy!

 

6 Responses to “How to “winnow” away unwanted protein in your pasta”

  1. Rachel Says:

    YOU ARE A FREAK. But you’re the only brother I have. Never change.

  2. hiphousegirl Says:

    I. Laughed. So. Hard. I don’t know if this caught me off guard or what- but I haven’t laughed this hard in many hours, if not days. This may be the best blog post you’ve ever written, if not the best I’ve ever read.

  3. Rachel Says:

    Jonny! GO TO THE STORE! That was Matt responding up there… I’m just going to go ahead and forward this on to every living person I know.

  4. Stratton Says:

    funnay. I just threw away some macaroni a mouse got into… I felt justified: mouse poop seems harder to “winnow” out…. lol

  5. tammy widdison bateman Says:

    love it!!! u r mike and cakthys son!!!


Leave a Reply

